Kevin’s Bed
by Bernard Farrell

Ronan Ward
Maura Farrelly McGuinness
Brian O’Reilly
Jane McGuinness
Seamus O’Rourke
Eileen Ward
Orla Galligan
Ann Kiernan

Directed by

Killian McGuinness


Loui Finnegan
Anne Doonan
Philip McIntyre
Aaron McManus
Stephen Tierney
Daniel Mimna
Una Ward
Elizabeth McGlynn
Bridget Whitton
Tony Fahy

Home Shows 2009

Thursday 19th February
Friday 20th February
Saturday 21st February
Sunday 22nd February
Wednesday 25th February
Thursday 26th February
Friday 27th February

Easter Sunday 12th April
Easter Monday 13th April

Friday 24th April
Saturday 25th April
Monday 4th May
Saturday 9th May
Friday 15th May
Saturday 16th May
Friday 22nd May

Show Starts

8:30pm sharp


Tel: (049) 4339612

Online Bookings


Drama Festivals 2009
Castleblayney - 3rd March
Roscommon - 6th March
Kiltycloghter - 10th March
Ballinamore - 12th March
Ballyshannon - 14th March
Shercock - 17th March
Cavan - 19th March
Carrickmore - 28th March

Drama Websites

It's Your Line...
RTE All-Ireland Finals
Guild of Irish Adjudicators
Kevin’s Bed by Bernard Farrell

Kevin’s Bed is a play of nostalgia, expectations and broken dreams. The setting is the celebration of the golden wedding anniversary of Dan and Doris - a time for them to return to their old house, join in their celebrations, contemplate a life in disarray and remember the joy of their silver anniversary - the Sonny and Cher days, the optimism and the expectations they had of their sons, John and Kevin.
Bernard Farrell

Bernard Farrell was born in Sandycove, Co Dublin. His plays for theatre include I Do Not Like Thee, Dr. Fell (Dublin, The Abbey Theatre, 1979); Legs Eleven (Moving Theatre, 1979); Canaries (Abbey Theatre, 1980); All In Favour Say No! (Abbey Theatre, 1981); Petty Sessions (Abbey Theatre, 1983); Don Juan (adapted from Moliere, Abbey Theatre, 1984); Then Moses Met Marconi (Dublin, TEAM Theatre, 1984); All The Way Back (Abbey Theatre, 1985); 1-2-3 O’Leary (Grips, Berlin, Dublin, Gate Theatre, 1985); Because Just Because (TEAM, 1986); Say Cheese! (Abbey Theatre, 1987); Forty-Four Sycamore (Waterford and Dublin, Red Kettle, 1992); The Last Apache Reunion (Abbey Theatre, 1993); Happy Birthday, Dear Alice (Waterford and Dublin, 1994, 1995); Stella by Starlight (Dublin, Gate Theatre, 1996); Kevin’s Bed (Abbey Theatre, 1998); and Lovers At Versailles (Abbey Theatre, 2002). His television drama includes Lotty Coyle Loves Buddy Holly (RTÉ, 1984); with Graham Reid, Foreign Bodies (BBC, 1985-1988); Glenroe (drama series, RTÉ); Radio Waves (RTÉ/BBC 1995).

His radio drama includes Gliding With Mrs Gleeson (BBC and RTÉ); The Scholarship Trio (RTÉ); The Final Whistle (RTÉ); When Mr Kelly Met Mozart (RTÉ); The Day Grandpa Disappeared (RTÉ); The Year of Jimmy Somers (RTÉ entry for 1987 Prix Italia); The Final Whistle (RTÉ entry for 1992 Prix Italia). His work has been translated into several languages and has been produced in the USA, Canada, UK, Belgium, Holland, Finland, Sweden, Spain, Germany, and Australia. He was the Anglo Irish Bankcorp sponsored Writer in Association, Abbey Theatre for 1996/1997, and among his awards are The Rooney Prize for Irish Literature.
Bookings: 087 2570363 or bookings@cornmilltheatre.com